Jolly Phonics
Jolly Phonics is a systematic phonics scheme that teaches children the alphabetic
code of English.  In the first nine weeks or so, the children are taught the 42 letter
sounds, how to blend them to read words, and how to cope with the first few 'tricky'
keywords.  At this point the children can attempt to read books for themselves.
There are five main elements to the teaching:
1.  Learning the Letter Sounds
The main 42 letter sounds of English are taught – one sound every day and in the
Jolly Phonics order.
1.  s  a  t  i  p  n
2.  c k  e  h  r  m  d
3.  g  o  u  l  f  b
4.  ai  j  oa  ie  ee  or
5.  z  w  ng  v  oo  oo
6.  y  x  ch  sh  th  th
7.  qu  ou  oi  ue  er  ar

A multi-sensory method is used to introduce the children to the letter sounds.  There
is a storyline, action and ‘Sound Sheet’ for each sound.  By doing an action
associated with the sound, e.g., rub tummy and say “mmmmm” for the /m/ sound, the
children remember it more easily.

Each child is given their own ‘Sound Book’.  Every day the new letter sound is stuck
into the book and taken home.  Parents are asked to help their children learn the
sounds, either by going through the Sound Book, or by cutting up the letters and
playing a game of ‘Pairs’ with their child.
In order to blend efficiently it is important to know the letter sounds fluently.  Every day
flash cards of the letter sounds that have been taught should be held up for the
children to call out the sounds as they do the actions.
Some sounds are represented by two letters, and are known as digraphs.  The
children need to recognize digraphs in words, e.g., the ‘ng’ in ‘strong’.  The digraphs
‘oo’ and ‘th’ each have two sounds, e.g., ‘book’ and ‘moon’, ‘thin’ and ‘that’.  In Jolly
Phonics they are initially written in two sizes to help the children understand that there
are two sounds.
© Sue Lloyd